Spring Layers: Motorcycle Jacket + Granny Dress

1 Apr

It’s still spring in Chicago.  Even though the sun may be shining a jacket is often necessary.  Along with really big sunglasses.  I want a pair of vintage oversize sunglasses with really dark lenses.

I want these to be mine!  These fabulous shades are for sale at my favorite online vintage place Etsy.  I really think I want them…

This is an eggplant leather motorcycle jacket with a snake print by Biba a German fashion co.  I found this jacket at a garage sale in West Virginia.

The floral dress is vintage by All That Jazz found at a Salvation Army in West Virginia.  Long dresses aren’t exactly in my comfort zone.  They’re ok, but I usually chop long dresses shorter.  Since this isn’t my favorite dress I’m going to add it to the vintage store because it’s quite lovely.  It flatters the feminine shape by flaring at the hips, but being tight across the waist.  Plus, I enjoyed how the skirt flounced up and down when I walked.  I felt like a kid playing with a toy and my toy was my skirt.

The feminine detailing continues with buttons up the back and cap sleeves.  I call these dresses granny dresses or grandma dresses because they are flowery and long.  They are a common find in thrift stores and a great thrift score.  You can make these dresses into your own by cutting them shorter or pairing them with contrasting pieces like I did with the motorcycle jacket.  I wore vintage nude heels, found at a Village Discount in Chicago, but this dress would look good paired with knee high doc martens to roughen up the look.  If I went that route, I would definitely cut the dress short and wear it with these velvet doc martens.

How do you wear your vintage dresses?  Are you into granny dresses?

2 Responses to “Spring Layers: Motorcycle Jacket + Granny Dress”

  1. Marcin April 1, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

    Fantastic glasses!

  2. Effortless Cool April 21, 2012 at 6:36 PM #

    love the contrast of the pretty dress with the edgy jacket!

    XO Sahra
    EffortlessCool

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

