Thrift Score-Vintage Food Processor

30 Oct

I can make soup!

I found this wonder at the thrift store today for only $1.45!  I picked it up from it’s shelf and found the nearest outlet to test it.  I saw another en route and grabbed it too.  First, I plugged it in and looked for a switch.  There isn’t one.  You turn the top to lock it in place and then it should work.  It didn’t.  What a let down.  So I tested out the other one which did have a switch and it also didn’t work.  I started wondering if the outlet was faulty, but I had plugged in a lamp and it had worked.  I then decided to give this processor one more try.  I turned the top to lock it in place and then pressed down and the top and magic happened!  It worked!

I was so excited.  Visions of making soups and smoothies were popping into my head.  Soups in particular because it’s starting to get cold and I want quick and easy, warm meals.  I promptly purchased my new favorite gadget, brought it home and washed it.

My next step was to find soup cookbooks.  I had just torn out a review from a paper for the Soup & Bread Cookbook.

Another good book which I checked out from the library last year is Love Soup.  This delight has 160 veggie soup recipes!

I am not at all excited about it starting to get colder and darker outside.  I am excited about staying cozy & warm indoors, having friends over, and making soups for all to enjoy.  My mouth is watering…

5 Responses to “Thrift Score-Vintage Food Processor”

  1. lesliepchristian October 31, 2011 at 4:00 AM #

    Brilliant! I am pretty sure this is the same food processor my mom had when I was a kid. I think she still has it… and it still works! I love the twist and go.. It was so forward thinking in the late 80’s slash early 90’s!

  2. stylebymeli October 31, 2011 at 8:08 AM #

    Whoa, what an awesome find…you can’t beat the price either! xo, Meli

  3. fashionfoodfeminism October 31, 2011 at 2:02 PM #

    I am seriously so excited about this and of course the price was incredible!

  4. NeldasVintageClothing.com October 31, 2011 at 4:55 PM #

    Very nice, a super fabulous find.

Leave a Reply

