Baby Killer

8 Nov

Baby killer.  That’s what my sister calls me whenever she gets mad at me.  I guess it’s intended to hurt my feelings?  It doesn’t.  In a recent text message conversation she turned on me and called me a baby killer, the devil, and said I needed to go to church.  Excuse me, but when was the last time you set foot in a church my dear?  I told her to watch some George Carlin; it would make her feel a lot better about life.

She calls me a baby killer because I worked at Planned Parenthood.  Why would she think that term would offend me then?  I thought being a pro-baby killer was a prerequisite for the job.  Apparently it’s not because Planned Parenthood (in Chicago) hires employees that think abortion is wrong unless it’s because of rape.  *Gasp*, tis true.  How fucked up is that?

Actually, I didn’t even work in the abortion clinic at Planned Parenthood.  I worked in the family planning clinic which meant the main part of my job was counseling women on birth control to prevent pregnancy.  The other part of my job did include what is called options counseling.  This is provided to women who come in and test positive for pregnancy.

On their intake sheet there is a handy dandy section where they can mark what they want to do about the pregnancy.  1- Continue the pregnancy, 2-Terminate the pregnancy, 3-Adoption, 4-Undecided, or 5-Discuss all options.  Most women know what they want to do before they even come in for the test.   So, if they want to continue the pregnancy I would talk to them about proper prenatal care and applying for Medicaid to cover it.  For adoption I would give them a referral to the Cradle, an adoption agency.

For those that want to terminate, are undecided, or want to discuss all options what I’ve found is those women just really want to know what is involved with the abortion procedure and the difference between the 2 types of abortion procedures.  Any woman considering an abortion I ALWAYS RECOMMEND the surgical procedure with sedation.  Trust me it’ll be the best decision you ever made.

One Response to “Baby Killer”

  1. ana November 9, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

    Funny he thinks God is a man.

Leave a Reply

