Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80’s movies?

30 Nov

“I want John Cusack holding a boombox outside my window. I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey. I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me. I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me. Just once I want my life to be like an 80’s movie, preferably one with a really awesome musical number for no apparent reason. But no, no, John Hughes did not direct my life”.

I am in love with the movie Easy A.  I think it is one of the best romantic comedies to come out in long time.  My only issue with it is the lack of cultural diversity.  There is the token black character of course, but done uniquely and adorably.

The movie is an exaggerated version of real life.  I like that the main character has guts, but shows her vulnerabilities.  Her parents are pretty awesome too.

I’m a hopeless romantic at heart and a lover of 80’s teen movies, particularly John Hughes.  I absolutely adore this scene.

2 Responses to “Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80’s movies?”

  1. Adem November 30, 2011 at 6:53 PM #

    This is not what I think of when I think of ‘chivalry.’ This is more ‘romance,’ which is actually hard for me to speak on, now that I try. I was going to say that it is dying, but then I always notice that this kind of thing is always overstated. I think TV is an exaggeration of everything, but humans just have a tendency to idealize previous periods. It’s near universal.

    • fashionfoodfeminism December 10, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

      This is more romance. What I wanna know is why is it always the guy’s responsiblity to be the romantic one? Especially if two people are in a relationship shouldn’t they both be putting in an effort to romance each other?

Leave a Reply

