Vegan Lemon Cake With Mint Frosting

6 Mar

The kitchen is not the area I’m most familiar with.  I love food, but prefer for someone else to make it for me.  I’m slowly starting to learn how to cook.  The food I love most is sweets!  So when I do bake it’s most likely a dessert.

I’m not a vegan. I like my eggs and butter in my dessert.  In fact, I’ll eat or try anything vegan except dessert.  I don’t want to be disappointed.  I was recently out to eat and noticed that the restaurant had vegan lemon mint cupcakes.  I was intrigued, but not enough to buy one.  Instead I thought if I’m going to eat a vegan dessert I may as well prepare one myself.  I found a recipe for vegan lemon cake and a recipe for vegan mint frosting.  I adjusted them to my liking and the cake turned out amazing.

For the cake you will need:

  • 1 lemon (I used 3, I really like lemon)
  • 1 ½ C all purpose flour
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 6 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  1.  Combine the dry ingredients.
  2. Grate the lemon rind.  Cut the lemon in half and squeeze out all the juice.  You are then suppose to add water to the juice and rind until you have 1 cup.  *This is where I modified- I used 2 more lemons which gave me 3/4 cup of lemon juice and then I added 1/4 cup of water.  I wanted to taste the lemon.  This also makes it really moist.
  3. Now add the lemon juice concoction and all your remaining wet ingredients.  Mix well.
  4. Pour into an 8 inch pan.  Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

For the frosting you will need:

  • 2 tbsp Soymilk (can add more)
  • 1/2 tsp mint extract
  • 3 C powdered sugar (you may only need 2 C, this makes a lot of frosting)

YUM

 

 

Leave a Reply

