Fashion Inspiration: Top Hat? Hair Wrap?

8 Mar

Living in Upstate NY, I always encourage everyone to wear a hat (it’s the one item that can make or break a cold day). So I thought I would turn to one of my favorite artists for a little inspiration: Erykah Badu. Top Hat? Head Wrap?

I love her for her music, lyrics, style, her politics and much more. I would describe her style as bold, unique, and eclectic. Before there was Gaga and Nikki Minaj, there was Erykah, trust.

So I say go bold and daring with a Top Hat or a head wrap… aren’t we all tired of the extra “cool” beanies? Come on!  I myself have been a victim of that comfort zone…don’t get stuck there. Take the risk. I personally like to use scarves to wrap my hair.  So take this as a little inspiration… share with us what hats you’re wearing these days!

Below is one of my favorite videos by Erykah Badu, inspired by Ntozake Shange’s 1975 play For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf . Awesome.

One Response to “Fashion Inspiration: Top Hat? Hair Wrap?”

  1. Jackie May 23, 2012 at 11:55 AM #

    Jackie here! I have a question for you regarding your blog. Please contact me when you get a chance. jclarkmca[at]gmail[dot]com

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

