Kitschy, Kitschy Needlepoint

9 Mar

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I am currently in a vintage craft phase and the more kitschy it is the more I love it.  I in particular really like needlepoint work.  What I like is that handmade touch and that no one else has it.  It also reminds me of my grandma’s house where there was a Raggedy Ann and Andy needlepoint pillow my mom had made in college.  And of course there was needlepoint art hung on the walls.

I collect my vintage crafts from thrift stores.  All my needlepoint items I found in Chicago.  The midwest is great place to find homemade, kitschy items.  Etsy also has lots of cute needlepoint works.  Now I was always aware that needlepoint is done by hand, my grandma had taught me how to do cross stitch needlepoint.  It just never occurred to me that I could make a needlepoint work of my own!  Honestly though, I prefer the already made vintage version.  If you like vintage crafts you should check out Cathy Of California’s blog.  It’s where I discovered Erica Wilson who was the queen of needlepoint work in the 1970s.  She was lucky enough to have a PBS show to share with people the joys of needlework.  It’s so simple, yet so fascinating to watch.

You must check out her boots!!  She made a pair of needlepoint boots…who does that?!

 

 

3 Responses to “Kitschy, Kitschy Needlepoint”

  1. Oh Sew Tempting March 11, 2012 at 6:09 PM #

    Those boots were definitely not made for walking! Erica Wilson was on TV in England in 1971. My school teacher called Miss Fox and Erica were my inspirations at the age of 10. I haven’t stopped sewing since. Thank you so much for bringing back those memories 🙂

    • fashionfoodfeminism March 12, 2012 at 2:01 PM #

      She was an amazing woman and she made sewing so much fun! We’re glad you enjoyed it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thrift Score « fashionfoodfeminism - April 12, 2012

    […] love needlepoint, I collect it.  Just check out my apartment.  Before this dress I didn’t own any wearable needlepoint so I was overjoyed when I found […]

Leave a Reply

