George Carlin Was A Feminist

13 Mar

I adore and admire George Carlin.  I think he was a very wise man and will one day share with you his life philosophies, but today is about George Carlin The Feminist.  Some people may find this an outrageous claim, but I’ll prove my point.  Let’s first discuss the above video which is actually just audio.  George talks about rape and claims that rape can be funny depending on the exaggeration.  What he is doing is giving an intro into a discussion about rape, but he does it with a touch humor.  I feel humor is an effective tool for getting people to let their guards down and not put up defenses immediately.  Through his comedy he was able to reach a wide diversified audience.  And when he is joking about rape he is basically saying what the fuck is wrong with this guy?  He is putting the blame on the rapist and not the “victim”.  Oh, and he was completely right about there being a higher incident of rape at the North Pole.

He also jokes about feminists and language and I agree with him on this.  My big issue is with the word girl being used for adult women and how we shouldn’t do it because it infantilizes women.  Many of my female friends use the term such as hey girl or you’re my girl.  And I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.  We aren’t trying to put each other down or be demeaning.   For us it’s a term of affection, a closeness, a bond.  I think women using the term amongst ourselves is ok.  A guy however should never say hey girl to me (or any other woman).  I have a name, use it and if you don’t know it hey hey is not the way to go about it.

This is one of my fave clips of George’s comedy.  He tackles all the issues of abortion with humor!  What’s more entertaining than that?  Everyone should watch this video regardless of their view on abortion.  My favorite moments are when he asks the audience to name 6 ways humans are better than chickens, homosexuals, the Catholics, and how periods make women serial killers.

“We declare war on the things we don’t like about ourselves”.  His observations on our society were so astute.  He was for the people.  He has the perfect solution for homelessness.  He thought golf courses should be turned into housing for the homeless and that it should be referred to as houselessness.  Does that not sound like a feminist to you, a radical feminist at that.  I completely agree that way too much land is used for golf courses and that it is an elitist, sexist, and racist “game”.  Golf is NOT A SPORT.  CHEERLEADING IS A SPORT.  Golf is the fat, white guy’s so called sport.

Even though George passed in 2008 he was always a good judge of character.  He totally got Rush Limbaugh.  I mean, Rush has been married 4 times and doesn’t have any children yet is completely clueless about birth control.

One Response to “George Carlin Was A Feminist”

  1. Ashley Pariseau March 13, 2012 at 5:54 PM #

    I love Carlin. He knows just how to put it.

Leave a Reply

