Breakfast For Dinner-Baked French Toast

9 Apr

I initially had hopes to make brunch this past weekend.  My plans were deferred due to Aldi’s being closed on Sunday.  I know there are other stores, but the little grocery stores in my neighborhood did not have any frozen fruit.

I love breakfast any time of day.  It is my favorite meal.  I often eat breakfast for dinner because I like to eat something sweet and something salty alternately together.  I found this recipe for baked french toast which seemed simple enough for even me to handle.

For the french toast you will need:

  • fresh baguette
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups soy milk- I used vanilla flavored
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

I forgot to butter the pan before putting the bread in.  After cutting up the bread and placing it in the baking dish I mixed up the eggs, vanilla, cinnamon, and soy milk.  Then I poured the mixture over the bread and let it sit a few hours, only 1 hour is necessary though.  When it’s ready to bake set your oven to 350 degrees and time for 45 minutes.

While the bread is baking you can make your berry sauce.  I modified the ingredients and used:

  • 16 oz mixed frozen berries-raspberries, blackberries, blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar

I ran both bags of fruit under hot water to thaw them.  I then combined the berries, make sure to use the juice, and sugar in a pan.  I heated the berries for 50 minutes on a low setting.

I used a vintage gun lover shot glass to hold the berry sauce and for easy pouring.

Absolutely delicious.

I used a vintage yellow glass ashtray as a serving dish.

Leave a Reply

