The Best Falafel In Chicago

19 Apr

It is not presumptuous of me to declare Sultan’s Market the best falafel in Chicago because IT IS THE BEST FALAFEL in all of the city.  Have you had it?  I’m sure you would agree. This is my favorite local restaurant for cheap, quick, and healthy food.  There are 2 locations, but the  Wicker Park locale is near and dear to me.  And it’s right off the Damen blue line.

Important thing to know right off, it’s cash only so come prepared.  A little bit of money goes a long way here.  There’s a large salad bar and it has stuffed grape leaves!  What I almost always get though is the falafel sandwich.  Spicy, always spicy.

Not only is the sandwich only $3.75, but and this is so important- unlimited refills on tzatziki sauce and sriracha sauce.  I love sauces!  Ok, that is an understatement.  I could almost live off sauces except you know they aren’t actually food.   The fact that I don’t have to worry about running out or that they don’t charge extra is glorious.  There are lids for the sauces so when you take your order to go make sure to take sauces with you.  It’s important to be prepared like a girl scout because you may have sriracha waiting in your fridge at home, but I highly doubt you have tzatziki sauce.

Have I mentioned Sultan’s is BYOB?  Or that the baklava is so sweet you’ll get diabetes.  On one occasion I had 2 pieces of baklava.  Don’t judge…I was super stoned and wanted seconds.  A meal is not complete without dessert.

4 Responses to “The Best Falafel In Chicago”

  1. Vittoria April 20, 2012 at 12:51 AM #

    looks so yum! x

    http://www.the-beautiful-things.com/

  2. stirringsavannah April 23, 2012 at 9:17 AM #

    wow, i’m a big fan of falafel, and I have yet to find a restaurant that makes it as well as my dad. But, that bread and those cucumbers make me think this sandwich is worthy of my attention! now, i need to plan a trip to Chicago.

    • phaydra April 25, 2012 at 4:36 PM #

      Can you share your dad’s recipe? I would love to learn how to make it myself and not from a box. Chicago is a great place to come for a food vacation, so many good eats.

      • stirringsavannah April 26, 2012 at 12:20 PM #

        definitely! let me find it out and get back to you.

Leave a Reply

