Comparing Nutella To Frosting Is Like Comparing Cocaine To Crack Cocaine

1 May

Everyone has secrets.  There are things about ourselves that we hide from others because we feel ashamed by them.  I use to eat frosting out of the can…all the time.  The whole can.  Not at once of course.

It started when I was 14.  I really wanted something sweet to eat and there was a can of chocolate frosting in the cupboard.  It hadn’t been opened yet, so I opened it and got a butter knife to sample the frosting.  I determined that this would indeed fix my sweet tooth and took my new found treat back to my room to continue watching tv.  About every 5 minutes I would scoop out a little frosting to eat.  When I felt satisfied, I put the lid back on the can and put it back in the cupboard.  It took about a week for me to finish a can of frosting.  I thought it was so good.  And then my mom found out I was eating frosting out of the can.  She just didn’t approve of me eating just frosting.  “Make a cake, make cupcakes and frost them.  Don’t eat just frosting”, but she didn’t get it.  I didn’t want cake and cupcakes with frosting, I just wanted the frosting.

Now I had to be sneaky about eating frosting.  It was a secret to keep from my mom.  This is when I started to feel shame about eating frosting, but it certainly didn’t stop me.  I just didn’t eat the frosting that was in the cupboard, instead I ate the extra frostings that were kept in the pantry.  You would think if my mom really wanted me to stop eating frosting she would have just stopped buying it right?

Eventually I outgrew my fondness for eating frosting out of the can.  I still very much enjoy eating frosting, but now I prefer it on cake and cupcakes.  I mean, do you know what is in frosting from the can?  It’s basically sugar and hydrogenated grossness.  I’m too disgusted to eat frosting out of the can now that I know what that stuff is, but it doesn’t stop me from eating it on a cupcake.  It’s all mind games I play with myself.

For now I have found a replacement for the frosting.

Nutella!  I shamelessly eat this out of the jar.  It was my new favorite thing for a while.  It is healthier than frosting.  It doesn’t have that sickening sweetness that frosting does that stops you from eating too much at once.  Oh, wait that actually may be it’s one real drawback- I can eat almost all of it in 1 day.  It only lasts one day *tear*.

Nutella is on to the mind games people play, but I’m not that gullible.  It’s not that healthy.  Do not take advice on back of jar.  Unless of course you are on the diet to diabetes.

Do you have any weird eating habits?  I sure hope I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

